1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My feelings about sexism are possibly affecting the way I see my sexuality?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by Shy95, Jan 26, 2018.

1. Shy95

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    So I'm a young female and very strongly feminist. I've been questioning my sexuality for almost 10 years and have noticed my feelings towards sexism and gender roles seem to be playing a part in the way I see my sexuality. For example, when I think of myself in a dress getting married to a man, I don't like it. It feels heavy and depressing. I wonder whether this is because I have a cynical view of straight marriage(the woman always seems to end up deprived and unappreciated and just becomes the "ball and chain"). But lesbian marriage feels a lot nicer. I wonder if this is because both people are the same sex so I feel they are more equal and free of prepackaged roles in the marriage.

I also feel more and root for the characters in lesbian romance films more than straight romance films. I happily seek these out and watch them but I can't stand straight romance films. I find them ridiculous and naive, and I usually end up thinking the woman deserves better, and I usually hate the guy.

In my relationship with a man now, I am very sensitive to any roles that may slip into our relationship. If anything, I like to be the more dominant one!

2. shadowalex

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people