1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When/how should I do it?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Orie9, Sep 24, 2017.

1. Orie9

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi all..

So I really want to come out to my straight best friend, who happens to be a guy, like me. We pretty much think of ourselves as brothers because we're both only kids and have been really close for over a decade. For the record, I haven't come out to anyone at all in my friend/family circle. He would be the first person beyond my doctors/guys that I've hooked up with that knew I was gay. As a recent college grad, I'm probably also a little bit older than most people trying to seek advice here. That last bit is important because my best friend lives in a completely different city from myself now. He's in Cleveland, I'm in NYC. I'm probably going to see him next in January.

Anyway, I guess my dilemma is if I should just get it over with and do it over the phone now, or wait until the next time I see him in person. The thing is, whenever we see each other in person, it's in his city (due to various reasons). His house. I'm worried about coming out to him when I pretty much need to stay at his place. What if he needs time to think about it without me around, or even has a negative reaction? Should I just do it over the phone so he has space and time away from me if he needs it? Or do it in person because he's my best friend in the whole world, and I want to come out to the people I care about in person?

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

#1 Orie9, Sep 24, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2017
  2. I'm gay

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone