1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do you think books can change the world?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by GlassWalls, Dec 9, 2017.

1. GlassWalls

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I've always hoped that if people read the right books it could open their minds and help the world for the better. I guess I'm a writer and a reader so of course I would hope that this would be true. Do you think if homophobes read books showing LGBTQ+s perspectives it would help create acceptance?

2. MHJG

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Of course. People acquire knowledge from the books, and knowledge changes the world.

Sometimes I think homophobia is like preference. Some people like red, some don’t. Some people like homosexuality , some hate that. It doesn’t mean they lack in knowledge or misunderstand homosexuality.

3. jam93

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I think it depends on how homophobic they are. If they are hard core, gays are going to hell types, the ones who protest pride parades and such, then probably not. When people have very strong beliefs they are often more likely to write off anything that says they are wrong as fake. These kind if people would just write off those books as gay propoganda or something, and probably want to burn them. Thier mids are set and they aren't going to change, because changing would mean accepting that one of thier major beliefs is wrong, something most people are unwilling to do.