1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

College freshman dating post-grad student?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Creativemind, Oct 23, 2017.

1. Creativemind

Gender Pronoun:
    Other
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I need some advice on this. I have found someone I may end up being able to date after all, but I am a bit insecure because I am a freshman and she is post-grad. She seems to not care, but I've grown up being told that relationships are healthier if the stage of life is the same.

What is your opinion? I am not a traditional freshman- I am 27 years old, and the post-grad student is 25. So there is no real age gap and we both have developed brains. I am more mature than my 18 year old peers, so it's pretty weird to see myself with them, but I always felt insecure about dating within higher education as well in case they were waiting around for me to catch up. I was surprised I got messaged by someone like this, but she seems interested and likes to ask about my classes and what I'm doing.

I'm unsure whether I should ask her out, so let me know your thoughts :slight_smile:

#1 Creativemind, Oct 23, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2017
  2. Quantumreality

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey Creativemind,

What does your educational status have to do with it when you are so close in age - and thus life experience?

It sounds like you really like her and she seems interested. So what, exactly, is your hesitation about at least exploring a relationship with her?

#2 Quantumreality, Oct 23, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2017
  3. canadawet

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Some people