1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I come out before a sleepover?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by sabrinaa, Oct 3, 2017.

1. sabrinaa

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    It's not technically a sleepover, but I am sharing a hotel room with someone and to save money they booked us one bed and said we can share.

I am out to some people. Really just close friends, people who have put it together because I'm involved in queer groups and the guys I work with who have asked me out and I have had to tell them I'm gay.

I am still newly comfortable with this, I'm just beginning to be okay. Honestly, it's only been a few months since I can say I have been comfortable with it. I am still not out to my family.

My question is should I come out to the person I will have to share a bed with? I am guessing it will be a woman and I am pretty sure I know who it will be. If it is her, she is one of my friends. I do not have any attraction to her, I just don't want to have to come out, I'd rather not, but I don't want them to feel uncomfortable when they eventually do find out!!

What do I do? Is it the right thing to do to tell them? Is it okay if I don't? Should I just not tell them and offer to sleep on the floor? If the right thing is to tell them PLEASE tell me how do I do this without being awkward!! I REALLY can't have this be a big deal or awkward!

Please help! I'm really afraid to do this! This means my entire friend group will probably know. I am not embarrassed or ashamed, but I am afraid they will be mad at me. Not because they are homophobic, but for some reason I feel like they will think I lied to them this whole time. I'm just afraid. They all respect me so much!! They respect me A LOT! I don't want them to know I've been keeping secrets! I have been in the closet for like 2-3 years since I've known them!

2. zumbaqueen