1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

constructing a "white" identity

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by ECMember, Sep 1, 2017.

1. ECMember

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I do not know if this is internal racism but I sometimes try to construct a white identity for myself.

For ethnicity I identify as Hispanic/Latino
    On race(well Hispanic isn't a "race") I label myself as White.

I tend to not speak with a Spanish accent, nor do I speak Spanish. I am familiar with Tex-Mex(Spanglish) from how my parents speak.

I have a bachelor's degree and I feel like I have a slight step above myself with some mobility. You know what I mean.

I see myself as Hispanic rather than Mexican American. My parents(my mom especially) does not like the use of the word "Mexican", she told one time, "Your Hispanic." Sometimes my dad would say on doing something the wrong way, "Your doing it the Mexican way."