1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Realism in novel - advice needed please!

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by CharacterStudy, Aug 15, 2017.

1. CharacterStudy

Hi,
    I'm a writer and I'm getting conflicting editorial comments on a sex scene in my nearly-finished novel, so I'm hoping for some advice please.

Scene summary:

Fairly cosmopolitan bi guy in his thirties 'Jon', first experience with another guy, is in bed with his (gay, experienced) friend, 'Robbie', for the first time. There's been a long build up of pining, doubts, touches, looks etc. They've ended up hanging out in bed, pseudo-innocently, they're talking. They have kissed on a previous occasion, but not followed it up due to Jon's internalised homo/biphobia.

They kiss, mouths, bodies, exploring - things heat up, Robbie gives Jon a BJ. Jon has some doubts but ultimately does the same.

I have contradictory critique comments:
    Male gay reviewers, limited in number: 'Get it on!' 'They've been building up to this for ages, it's time.' 'Why aren't they full on shagging?'
    Male straight reviewers, a few: Jon would have more doubts, he wouldn't give oral sex on his first time with a guy.
    Female straight reviewers: 'Sounds realistic to me.'

Given how emotionally close they are, my instinct is that it is realistic that Jon, who despite his inexperience accepts his attraction to men, would return the favour, but I've got (admittedly straight) guys here telling me 'no'!

So, please does this scenario sound realistic? And if not, why not (specifically, what doubts), and what might be more realistic? (Jon not reciprocating, Jon not even accepting oral, Jon reciprocating with hands instead?)

I'm wondering if these objections are more about how uncomfortable they are with reading this situation between two men, because I know some of these straight guys would do this with a girl.