1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thoughts about dating

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by rosemarythyme, Aug 2, 2017.

1. rosemarythyme

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    I'm still in love with my 100% unavailable Catalyst. I normally see her a few times a week for work which while slightly painful is something I look forward to with that sort of irrational hope that can be so hard to give up, especially when things can't progress in any normal way. I think it would help me to get a perspective if I could get to know her better. But I can't. Now I won't see her until September and I'm feeling in a pro-active mood. Don't want to spend another month pining and remembering her voice, her eyes etc etc etc. I have no experience with women and still describe myself as questioning. Falling for someone unavailable is a good way to not really face it. So maybe I could make an effort to face it?

Yesterday I finally had the conversation that I've been building up to with my husband. We still live together but have been separated for a few years. For a long time dating was the last thing on my mind but for the last about half a year, since I've started questioning, I've been thinking about it. He hasn't been involved with anyone so far either so I wanted to know where we stand on this. Basically, he said he couldn't care less if I date someone. So the marriage is officially open. Now what do I do?

I tend to take everything very seriously so something like a hook up is a foreign concept and I couldn't do that. Even before marriage I never really dated. Had Also as a married woman with a small child, who's in love with someone else and doesn't even know for sure if she's attracted to women beyond the one - what can I really offer anyone? Seems totally the wrong place to date from. I guess I need to just dive in without overthinking, have some fun, don't worry etc... so hard to do.