Fear of failing ... again

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by slowmo, Jul 23, 2017.

1. slowmo

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I'm still new to EC, but I'm enjoying the insights and support. I never thought I'd ever contribute, but I'm trying to push my boundaries and expand my comfort zone.

To recap the key points for me. I'm in my late 50's and not out to anyone but my therapist ... and here. I divorced 5 years ago after 30+ years of marriage to a diagnosed narcissist. In think I was so insecure and in denial about being gay that I latched onto the first woman in college who showed interest in me. And then I conditioned myself to believe I deserved no better.

I divorced 5 years ago after a pretty bad 20 years, of which the last 5 or so were a living hell for me and the kids. I finally left when they begged me to. I have three adult children who are the light of my life. Somehow they've survived the craziness. The youngest just finished college and is still with me for a while.

Over the past year, I've very slowly started coming to terms with accepting that I'm gay. The key motivator? Now that I've finished "launching my kids" I can breathe again. But I really don't like the prospect of being alone and unloved and having no one to love for the rest of my life.

As part of my journey, I've come to realize one of my biggest fears is "failing" as an out gay man. The way I see it is I already failed as a straight man, although I accept the reasons are numerous and complex. And I don;t want to fail again.

Does anyone else who's coming to terms with being gay later in life worry it's just too late to be good at being gay?