1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What seems telling in hindsight

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by i am just me, Jul 21, 2017.

1. i am just me

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I often wonder why I didn't figure out that I am not cis sooner. Theoretically I know the answer. It's because of my lack of exposure to non-het, non-cis people and topics. However some childhood experiences seem ridiculously telling in hindsight.

I remembered one more a few days ago: When I started learning English in grade 5, my teacher asked us to pick an English name for class from a list. I really wanted to be called Alex (one of the very few gender-neutral names in German) but I wasn't allowed to because my teacher said its a male name in English. So I refused to pick a name from the "girls" section of the list and stuck with my birth name instead. (I didn't really know about the fact that there were gender-neutral English names and my teacher didn't tell me).

Anyways, what are things that make you think "why haven't I noticed sooner?"

2. Kodo

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    When I was little I'd have tantrums about not wanting to wear a shirt. Aside from that, well, there is all the stereotypical gender expression and interests side like wearing boyish clothes and playing with boy toys. But that I attribute more to having a lot of brothers and a nonconformist personality.