1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTM coming out... if you've got time please help.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by sonnolento, Jun 25, 2017.

1. sonnolento

sonnolento Guest

I am FTM trans, have been figuring this all out/considering transitioning for just over 2 years now. I have very recently gotten to the point where I feel very depressed almost every day, and I am extremely self-conscious of my body. I have been presenting as male for 2 years, under my birth name and using she/her pronouns, and it has been just alright for me. But this is really starting to hurt me now. I look like a 13 years old boy. I am nearly 21 and I feel it is time to start my life and stop cheating myself of living authentically. That being said, it is time to come out.

I am living at home currently, and going back to college for one more year starting in September. Then I plan to live at home for a year or two more to get started on paying my loans. Then I am gone. I live with my mom and dad, and I have no siblings. My mom has always been accepting of me having been a "tomboy" my whole life. My dad on the other hand has always resisted it, and I can tell even now he is still unhappy with it. He wants me to look like more of a lady, I know it. He says it is embarassing when I am mistaken for a boy. I wouldn't say he is transphobic/homophobic, but he has made some comments. He isn't very open minded in that respect. Naturally, coming out to him poses a challenge. I feel that he would get really mad, think I'm full of sh*t, or it will strain our relationship. I cannot see him taking it well, although I don't see him taking it horribly (i.e. disowning me, etc.).