1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is friendship between males?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by ryan81, Jun 9, 2017.

1. ryan81

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight but curious
    Hey everyone,

I have question which I've been grappling with for several years now: what is friendship between males?

Some background: I'm a man and sexually attracted to men, but so far I've only dated women (more on that later). I grew up in a small town where there was a lot of emphasis and interest in sports, and although I was athletic and played sports for a long time growing up, I never had much interest in sports and therefore did not share much in common with my peers. This made it challenging to make friends. I had a great friend in elementary school who had similar interests, but he moved away, and we fell out of contact. I haven't really had any close friends from middle school through high school.

Then, going to college, I tried making friends, particularly with other males (I have typically gotten along with women just fine) but soon realized that I have absolutely no idea how to interact with other guys. My conversations with them were weird, and we had very little in common.