1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dating apps worth it?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Grounded Eagle, Jun 9, 2017.

1. Grounded Eagle

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hello friends! (*hug*)
    I'm moving to a new city shortly, and I'm worried about making gay friends (and hopefully finding a special guy!). I'm pretty shy, and while my current situation going to university has helped me socialize a bit, I'm worried my chances of meeting the right guy will be so much lower in the working world.

So I've never done apps before because I don't want to just hook up. I feel that apps are inevitably shallow because they rely first and foremost on images of faces and bodies to attract interest from other guys. When you use an app, you pretty much judge and discard people based on their faces and physiques before getting anywhere near those deeper layers of character and intellect--if you ever get there at all. I agree that physical attraction does play a role, but I see this approach as an absurdly unbalanced way of evaluating people. So those are my feelings on apps.

Despite that, I'm worried that apps may be the only way to meet a lot of the gay population in this new city. There aren't a whole lot of LGBT groups and events there--at least, not easily discoverable on the internet--and I know that there are probably a lot of gay guys who don't go to those things anyways. I'm planning to get involved in groups and activities I'm interested in and hope to meet a few gay men that way, but that's certainly no guarantee. This morning I found an app that seems to lean more towards socializing than just hooking up, but it still has the same issues I talked about above.

So what are your opinions on dating apps? Or maybe dating websites? Have you ever got a relationship out of one?

2. jamescool