1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I Seek Therapy?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Simple Thoughts, Apr 16, 2017.

1. Simple Thoughts

So I was kind of curious and I looked over my insurance policy through my work, and apparently they cover mental health. I didn't think they would, but it seems they do. I'm not good at understanding all that technical policy stuff so I don't know exactly what is/isn't covered under that part, but I'm guessing they probably consider it preventative care or something. I'm not sure...

Anyways...I was kind of thinking about seeking a therapist, but I'm not fully sure. I guess first off I don't have a car so my boyfriend would have to drive me and I really don't want him or anyone really to know if I went. Also, I'm not exactly sure what I'm doing. I've never seen a cousellor/therapist/psychiatrist or anything like that before so I don't know what the process is or how any of it works.

I am also kind of confused about where to look. I don't know what exactly I'm looking for. I just feel like it'd be helpful to have someone to talk to for a change. Someone that knows what they're doing, but I also kind of know that I'm a pretty closed off person and I'd probably be spending money just to sit in a room with my mouth shut saying nothing because I don't really open up to people...

Eh I dunno...

2. Silver Sparrow

Hi there Simple Thoughts! I assume there is probably public transit where you live, so you could look into that for transportation.