Coming out gone really wrong

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by HerRainbow, Apr 9, 2017.

1. HerRainbow

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    As some of you may know, I've been coming out as bisexual to my family for about 7 months now. I told my younger brother and sister first then I told my mum about 2 weeks ago. I planned on telling my older brother and dad in the next few days...until my mum told everyone today :icon_sad:

It started this morning with songs about gay people being played really loud, then a couple of hours later my mum sat me down along with my sister to ask how I knew I was bisexual. Neither of them were very happy by this point and I knew that if I said anything, it would only make things worse. When my dad and older brother got back minutes later, she asked them if I told them.

My older brother didn't say anything but my dad said stuff like she didn't tell me but if she did, I have carted her off to the GP. And things like he doesn't believe in that kinda stuff. My dad and sister then started talking about how they thought I was weird and there was just a terrible atmosphere so I went to find out what my older brother thought.

We had a really long conversation and he said he wanted to support my decision and that it didn't change anything for him. Now I've heard variations of this from my younger brother and mum so I'm not sure I can believe that.

The whole thing has gone on the entire day and all I can hear is how strange I am. I asked my younger brother how he really felt after relaying the rest of the family's reaction and he said he's with them on it and he doesn't want to talk to me anymore. I feel betrayed by him in particular because I told him if he had an issue that he should speak to me but he was talking to my sister all along. And the rest of my family have made it clear they want nothing to do with me.