1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by SgWay, Feb 9, 2017.

1. SgWay

Hi,

I am 30, male and have been aware of being gay since I was 12. Im a Malaysian in KL, unfortunately born a Muslim but not a practicing Muslim and grew up in a a liberal family. I enjoy working out and always plan to travel to other parts of the world.

I did my degree and masters in Australia in engineering for 5 years and for some reason being sent there again for my PhD. It is at this stage of my life I have decided to meet other LGBT people which is very difficult to do in Muslim majority Malaysia with an anti LGBT Sharia court , I hope I can meet other men and women of the LGBT community in Australia and just socialize without any fear or stigma. I find that joining this forum is my first small step in embracing my sexuality and try to be happy about it.

I have not come put of the closet and declared my sexuality to my family despite my liberal minded family although I am sure they suspect I am gay all along since I have turned down several marriage proposals to my cousins by my uncles/aunts. The problem if it gets out of the family circle to my more conservtaive relatives, my family can be stigamtized.

Hope to get some good feedback on my posts and get to know some people here.

#1 SgWay, Feb 9, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2017
  2. Jolly Hermione

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    HI SgWay and welcome to EC :grin:

I hope you'll like it here ^^

3. Nanodae

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hello SgWay, welcome to EC :slight_smile:
    I wish you luck in your journey! - my parents are from a muslim background and I understand how difficult it can be :frowning2:

4. PrinceVegeta

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone