1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does how you do in high school really dictate your future?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Ameryllis, Oct 4, 2016.

1. BMC77

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I might as well toss this in, as well...

I did quite well in high school. Lowest grade was probably in the "B" range, and my grades were mostly in the "A" range starting in 10th grade. I had demanding classes--including 3 years of real science (biology/chemistry/physics/AP chemistry), and I had 2 years of German (not the easiest language) as an elective. (I fulfilled college language with 4 years of French, but that program was worthless apart from the value in allowing me to claim 4 years of language study). I graduated with over 3.5 GPA, and was in the top 10% of the class.

Frankly, high school did nothing towards a bright, beautiful future for me.

All it did was make college acceptance possible. But frankly, I could have gotten into the college I went to with lesser grades. I had nothing that really was enough to prompt them to pour out the scholarship dollars.

One other thing, too, while thinking of colleges... In the US (and much probably applies elsewhere as well...) They don't look at grades alone. They look at a number of factors--grades, types of classes taken (IIRC--a harder classes can be worth more even if the grades aren't as good), test scores (SAT or ACT in the US), letters of recommendation, essays, etc.

Another factor: being well rounded is a bonus. Being a straight A student (like I was) who doesn't do anything but school work (like me) is less compelling than a B student who has lots of other impressive activities.