1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out at uni

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by ConverseCody, Sep 30, 2016.

1. ConverseCody

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I've recently started a masters degree at uni. The course is great and my course mates are very friendly. My masters program is very international and attracts people from all over the world.

I am studying in Scotland which is in the most part a pretty tolerant and liberal place. I've received little homophobia, and I'm really lucky to have an awesome boyfriend and accepting parents.

However, I'm scared to come out at uni as most people on my course are from very homophobic countries (Nigeria, Uganda, Mauritius, Ghana and Kenya). I've openly spoken about my bf to the two UK class mates and the German one as I assumed they'd be cool with it or at least aware of LGBT people.

I'm reluctant to talk openly to my other course mates as I fear they may have never met anyone who is gay before or have very homophobic beliefs. For instance in Uganda its punishable by death.

This has got me very anxious. I want to make friends on my course. The thought of someone thinking that sleeping with my bf is illegal fills me with dread. However, at the same time, I know that I shouldn't feel ashamed and that these people are studying in the UK and should therefore respect the laws/customs of this country. I don't want any drama or homophobia but at the same time I don't feel as though I should have to hide who I am as if any of them do have homophobic opinions I know they're wrong.

Maybe I'm stressing over nothing but I have to spend 4 days a week 9am-5pm with my class mates and I'd rather not hide who I am. Just don't want any hassle :frowning2:

Any advice? :slight_smile:

2. yuanzi