1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is "gender neutral" terminology offensive to transwomen?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Rickystarr, Sep 28, 2016.

1. Rickystarr

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    This may be a stupid question, but I have very little experience with transwomen IRL (I suppose I don't have much experience with transfolk in general IRL, but I know at least a couple of transmen/nonbinary peeps) so I don't think much about this, or haven't until lately.

So for example, if I am with my fiancee, or any other female appearing person, I get very internally upset when a server or someone like that refers to the two of us as "ladies" obviously, since ladies is clearly gender specific. Do you dislike being referred to as "you guys"? If it was you and someone who was obviously a man and they said "you guys", would you have a problem with that? What if you were hanging out with another transwoman? Or a ciswoman even? I myself consider "you guys" to be gender neutral, but do you feel that way? Would it be more validating to be called "ladies" or something if it was you and another woman, be they cis or trans? Like do you get happy when addressed that way? I just can't imagine myself ever using that sort of language because it feels dumb in my mouth for one, but also since I consider "you guys" to be gender neutral and I wouldn't want to assume anyone's gender, even if they are presenting as female, I would never say that.