1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Therapist Advice

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by ThatOneAlien, May 27, 2016.

1. ThatOneAlien

I recently started taking medication for depression so my doctor made me an appointment with a therapist. I didn't really know they were going to do this, I thought they were just going to give me some resources or something and I would figure it out from there. But now I've got this appointment in a few days and the problem is that I would like someone to help me with gender issues as well as the depression and such, but my doctor doesn't know I'm trans, so I have no idea what kind of experience the therapist will have with this. Any advice?

2. BradThePug

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I would talk to your therapist and see if she has any experience. Even if she does not, she may be able to direct you to somebody who does have some experience working with trans people.

3. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm sure if you haven't been to therapy before, or hadn't considered telling someone about being trans, that this is probably pretty terrifying for you.

I'd add to what Brad said... if the therapist says s/he does have experience with gender issues, it's perfectly reasonable to ask what kind of experience, about how many clients, and how long s/he has been working with this population.