1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any Bass Players on here? :)

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Invidia, Apr 22, 2016.

1. Invidia

Invidia Guest

Far above the clouds, gazing deep below the Earth
    I'm a drummer and vocalist myself, but I'm interested in picking up a third instrument. I'm pretty sure I've ruled out guitar; I want to learn a wind instrument, but I'll wait with that, I think; for now, I'm thinking I want to learn keyboard or bass guitar. If there are any bass players on here, I'd love to get some advice on how best to learn to play the bass. :slight_smile:
    Hope you're all having a pleasant morning/day/evening/night, xoxo.

2. Irisviel

Well, I played violin for 8 years in the past but I quit... bass was my choice to stay connected to music somehow. I don't know any tips beyond practice, practice, and then practice some more - but you probably know that already. For me the violin was a huge headstart.

Someting more useful: don't just try to play songs you like. Try to start each practice session with some boring but good exercises - a sort of a warmup/agility practice. You are going to need your fingers stretched and those kinds of exercises are doing that, among training you in knowing the instrument. I'm not sure how you would call those kinds of exercises in English, but any lessons for begginers would likely contain examples. Oh, and it would be a good idea to learn reading musical notes, too. Not needed, but useful.

Prepare yourself for aching fingertips... and try to learn fingering the bass, not using a pick. Uh, and, well, if you don't have a teacher, use the power of youtube!

#2 Irisviel, Apr 22, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2016
  3. renardjouerbass

OOH OOH!!
    *Raises Hand*
    Yes I play the bass

Here's a tip