1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I don't know how to come out to my friends

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Eolwen, Mar 6, 2016.

1. Eolwen

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I think the title says it all.

I came out to my family and my best friend some time ago, but most of my friends still don't know that I like girls. The thing is, until recently, I had never been honest with myself and I had always tried to hide what I felt and who I was. I felt safer that way. I thought my life was complicated enough without adding this to my list of problems. So I'm not good at showing what I feel, even to the people I want to be close to. And yet I want my friends to know about this because it is important to me. I want them to know me, and not this image of me I've learned to put up.

The thing is, I'm scared that they will reject me if I tell them everything. I've only known some of them for a year and I'm afraid my coming-out would make things awkward afterwards. I wish I could just tell them but every time the subject of relationship pops up, I just panic and I can't even manage to speak. Every time they ask what sort of men I'd like to date or those kind of things, I close up and then it takes ages for me to find the courage to speak again. The best I've been able to do so far was to drop a few hints, but that's not enough... I know the only way to get this of my chest is to say it but I really can't find the strength to do so.

I'd really appreciate any sort of advice you might have :help:

2. Holmes

That's not uncommon, to worry about how coming out will make things awkward. Although in most cases, people do adapt, I occasionally think about how so many did adapt in my case.

Of course, I don't know your friends, so I can't quite speak about them, but is there any specific reason you think they mightn't be receptive?