1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Small, homophobic town :(

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Beepbeeps, Feb 28, 2016.

1. Beepbeeps

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Straight but curious
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hello! I just joined EC literally a few minutes ago haha, but at this point I'm desperate and anxious for advice and this site seems very helpful, so I figured I'd register and ask! I've been looking for a nice community for awhile. Anyways, I'm a freshman in highschool, in a tiny, homophobic town. My middle school years I lived in a larger town, and it was filled with the nicest most accepting people ever. My PE teacher was a lesbian! Nobody cared, everybody loved her. Then, I moved to the mountains, and I had gone from growing up surrounded by loving family and peers that supported lgbt+ people all the way, to a school where on the literal first day I heard f*g and d*ke...yikes.

I learned I was a lesbian last summer, and I'm so happy and proud I know who I am. But I'm only out to family. I don't want to be rejected, I'm scared. Even my friends would be disgusted. Even the "supportive" ones always have a secret disgust with who I am. My school has days and assemblies dedicated to being who you are, and to stop bullying, but it stings because I know those positive messages aren't for me. They aren't for me and all the other gay kids who may be in the school. They're meant for other types of different kids, and it hurts. I want to say who I am. I wanna stop hearing that me and a certain boy would be cute, or that I'll find a guy someday. :frowning2: I don't know if much advice can be given for this, but I'm so scared of everyone turning their backs on me and saying things...any kind words would be so amazing. I'm sorry for dumping this very long post on the forums immediately, I've been holding this in for awhile...

2. MaximusMike