1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Homophobic Relatives

Discussion in 'For Parents and Family Members of LGBT People' started by IslandMom, Feb 23, 2016.

1. IslandMom

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Hi all,

I am new to EC and am really thankful for all the open and honest dialogue on the EC forums.

Thank you for being so willing to share your experiences and to guide others into becoming their true authentic selves (see....I'm learning!). I am going to dive into the deep end and ask a question about how best to deal with homophobic relatives.

A brief background is that I have a 16 year old son who is out to his friends but not anyone else - including me - yet. It has been a rough year trying to figure everything out but he and I are in a good place now in that I think he is pretty sure I know and I have given him lots of hints that I support him and love him and will always be there for him.