1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to tell my college (dorm) roommate

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by PennyT, Jan 29, 2016.

1. PennyT

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm a college freshman. I have the most amazing roommate ever. She puts up with my weirdness and kills bugs for me. :grin:

I realized a few days ago that I am gay. I haven't told anyone. The thing is, my roommate and I are planning on renting an apartment next year. I posted this problem in another feed, and the advice I got was to tell her before we sign the lease, which makes sense. She's fine with LGBTQ rights, but I don't know if she'd be fine living with a lesbian.

How do I tell her? I don't want to weird her out or anything. We live in a dorm, so it's not unusual to see each other in not a lot of clothing. I don't ever check her out because she's more like a sister to me than anything. (And I didn't consciously start finding girls attractive until a few days ago.) I don't want her to be uncomfortable for the rest of the semester with living with me.

How do I tell her? Help! Please! I don't want to lose her as a friend or as a roommate. What do I do?

2. Distant Echo

Wait. Give yourself time to explore yourself. You've only known for a few days. You're not sharing an apartment till next year. Give it at least a few months...

3. Cort

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I agree with inamirrordarkly that there doesn’t have to be a rush in telling her. It makes a lot of sense to just take a pause for a bit and reflect.

When you do decide to tell her, I would just tell her exactly what you’ve told us, especially this part: