1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Am I demisexual if...?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by lonelyjamie, Jan 4, 2016.

1. lonelyjamie

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi,

Recently I readed some articles about demisexuality and I think that maybe I am demisexual but I'm not sure about it because of some sexual fantasies I have. As an example I masturbate while imagining me having a threesome with some hot guys in my college. I wouldn't do this in real life but in my head it feels so amazing. That's why I'm confused whether I am demisexual or not. Can someone help me with this question? Am I demisexual if I have these fantasies?

(Sorry about any English mistakes, I'm still learning)

Lots of love,
    - Jamie

2. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    The entire concept of demisexuality is not one that's accepted by much of anyone credible in the field of sexuality study (therapists, researchers, sexologists.) Basicallly, it's a term popularized by a tiny group of people that defines what is, according to everyone else, a normal part of the ordinary spectrum of human sexual attraction.

Additionally, the masturbatory fantasy of having a threesome would not in any way be consistent with even the (completely unsupported and nearly impossible to pin down) definition of demisexuality used by the tiny group of people that made it up.

Basically, lots of people create masturbatory fantasies that they'd never carry out. In this case, at least in my opinion, these fantasies have no impact whatsoever on how you define your sexual orientation.

3. YuriBunny

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I don't think your fantasies are necessarily relevant to your real life preferences.