1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How did you choose your job ?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Aeolia, Jan 3, 2016.

1. Aeolia

Gender Pronoun:
    Other
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Hi there,
    It's my 2nd year doing nothing at all and I still don't know what to do.

I was wondering, how did YOU choose your job/career ? Has it always been obvious ? Do you enjoy it ? Do you hate it ?

#1 Aeolia, Jan 3, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2016
  2. breq

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I studied Japanese in college and had no idea what to do when I graduated, so I went and taught English in Japan through the JET Program. There, while figuring out my life, I fell in love with teaching and never looked back. Now I've got a Master's in Teaching and a class of my very own! My advice is to take different classes, maybe sit in on a few and find something you like to do!

3. mbanema

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I don't think there was ever a real decision that I wanted to have a career as a web developer. It's just something I was interested in and self taught at a young age and then one of my dad's connections got me an internship after my junior year of high school. I kept going back every summer through the end of college and then started full time after graduating so it's the only "real" job I've ever had. Even in college though I had no idea what I wanted to do for work so I just took a general business program with a focus on information systems and computer science.