1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why am I so scared and unsure?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by xx Kellin xx, Dec 6, 2015.

1. xx Kellin xx

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi! So, I have been dragging my feet on coming out to my mom for a few months now. I am only out to both of my youth pastors at church, all my church friends, and 3 of my cousins. All of them are supportive so far. But when it comes to my mom, I am scared stiff even though she loves all of my LGBT+ friends.

I am looking to come out as FtM transgender, and panromantic/asexual. However, I am afraid that she will take the news very hard - especially the transgender aspect. She has expressed some feelings before where I get the hint that she would be okay if I was just a full-on lesbian, but anything else freaks her out. She loves my closest transgender friend to death and often defends him when someone hurts him, but I have a feeling the circumstances might not be so much the same if it was her own child.

Some days I feel like I want to lie and just say that I'm lesbian, but then there is the fact that when I finally get the guts to tell the truth, I will have to come out to her again. And other days, I feel like writing a 10-page double-spaced 12-point Times New Roman font essay about my feelings and explaining that I am trans, pan, and ace. This also sometimes leads me to question if I am really trans and pan and ace - sometimes I feel like I'm just covering the fact that I'm just a lesbian and it often leads to some pretty bad mental breakdowns because I know in my heart what the truth is.

I plan on coming out to my mom in either a letter, or an email. I am far too shy and unorganized in speech to try and verbally explain things to her.