1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

To all students :)

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by potofsoup, Dec 2, 2015.

1. potofsoup

potofsoup Guest

Dear all,

I am a student and two things I have noticed is that:

1) I can't study for more than 10 to 15 mins at 1 go. I have to take a break and study again.

2)If I studied a lesson this week and not touch it again, I'll forget the lesson after 2 weeks.

Is it common for students? Sometimes, I wonder if it only happens to me.

Share with me about your study experiences. Do you face the 2 problems which I have mentioned?

2. DougTheBicycle

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    The first problem is very common. I'd recommend a couple of things that might help. First, try turning off your phone. Sometimes just getting rid of a distraction is enough. Secondly, try listening to some relaxing sounds. Not music, just like, ambient background noise. I know what works for me is just the sound of a rainstorm. Lastly, something that is recommended by a lot of psychologists is to study for 50 minutes, then take a ten minute break. In that ten minutes, don't go on the internet or watch a video or send a text. Instead, get up and take a small walk. If there's a way for you to look at nature in some way (a plant in the house, trees outside) do that. It's been scientifically proven to refresh our brains and help us calm down.

As for the second, it's not uncommon in school to forget material. When you're assigned a bunch of things to learn in multiple subjects, it's bound to happen.

Hope this helped!

3. robclem21

If I took a break every 15 minutes I would never get anything done. I still need breaks while I study but it is generally every 2-3 hours followed by a 15-20 minute break.