1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

28 and almost ready to come out

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Domo2016, Sep 9, 2015.

1. Domo2016

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hey guys,

I am completely new to EC and I'm just looking for some advice really. Basically I'm a 28 year old guy who has spent an inordinate amount of time hiding my sexuality from everyone. My environment (up until recently) hasn't been condusive to coming out hence my hesitation.

I'm from Ireland and a couple of months ago gay marraige became legal here through popular vote, this was definately a turning point for me. My country has changed so much in the past few years (for the better) and it is definately helping me to feel more comfortable in my own skin.

As for myself, I have spent all of my life until now deeply closeted. I have witnessed incredible homophobia down through the years and unfortunately for me, alot of my social circle are homophobic. Infact my best friend has nothing but bad things to say about gay people. I know most folk would say, he's not a true friend if he won't like you for being gay, but the guy is practicaly like a brother to me so cutting all ties with him seems unimaginable.

I really worry that I've left things too late. I'm so angry because at work yesterday I overheard a co worker refering to a story she heard of a guy who came out at 29 and her reaction was "he left it too late, why would he bother?". This sucked as you can imagine especially since I'm on the cusp of telling my mother (for starters).