1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to college friends.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by StartANewLifE, Aug 16, 2015.

1. StartANewLifE

A little history.

I was out with just my classmates back when I was in grade school. When I was in high school, we moved to the Middle East because of my father's job. My family doesn't know. And with the Arab culture, I decided to act straight since then.

Now.

I'm back to my home country. I'm a senior in college and still acting straight. I've had a straight relationship when I was a sophomore that lasted two weeks because it felt so wrong. All my friends in my circle assume that I am straight and they still talk about that girl (like wth!?)

The thing is.

I'm starting to date guys now. They know that I am dating but they all ask like: "So who's this girl?" "Show us a pic." etc.

I'm feeling squeezed every day now. And I hate myself for lying to their faces the 3 years we are together. I want to come out and I feel like I'm ready for it. It's just I find it hard to find a timing.

One of them is celebrating her birthday this coming week. And I'm planning to do it there. Would it be a right time? Or should I just set up one occasion where we could all-meet (we're currently not all classmates) and I officially tell them?

And what are the things/questions I should prepare for after I came out to them? And do you think it's alright to come out as Bi first?

#1 StartANewLifE, Aug 16, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2015
  2. mangotree

If you know you're gay, don't come out as bi. Why cover up a lie with another lie?

If you don't think it will be a big deal to your friends (and not steal away a lot of the spotlight from the birthday girl), then it could be a good to do it while everyone's together.

If you find it hard to come out to a lot of people at once, there's nothing wrong with telling one person at a time.

3. Yossarian