Resume noob, please help... ;<;

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by BluhImCourtney, Jul 2, 2015.

1. BluhImCourtney

Yeah, so I'm just getting ready to apply for my first job, and then I realized I needed to write a resume separate from applications online.

Crap. ._.

So I looked up how to do this... it's intimidating and makes me want to cry. ._.

Experience? I didn't know this was that kind of job...

Qualifications? I'm a f*cking 17 year old kid just going into her last year of high school, what qualifications? ;<;

And then the name... my legal name or the one I identify by? Because I'll be presenting in probably a month or two. ._.

The above were just some "complaints" if you could call them that, as the title suggests, I am a total noob. ._.

Any advice is appreciated.

2. HM03

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Is there somebody at your school that can help you out? In Ontario we have Civics and Career teachers (highschool), and at my university there are Employment advisers. An adviser at my university REALLY helped me out.

For Experience I'd put any experience you have, newspaper routes whatever. If you any volunteer experience I'd put that down too.

Hopefully somebody with better advise will come along ^.^

3. and323

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hello!

What kind of job are you looking to use the resume for? If it's for a starting job, which I assume it is since you're 17 and still in high school, qualifications and experience isn't going to be as much of an important factor. However like the above poster said, put anything and everything you can think of in those sections, they say resumes are looked at for about 6 seconds each to determine if the person is legit enough.

Make sure you put what you believe to be most important up top or have it stand out the most. Try to fit it all on one page and avoid white space.