1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

would those with a disability please stand up?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by NatWheeled, Jan 15, 2015.

1. TheStormInside

I'm not technically disabled, but I have chronic health conditions that affect my functioning. Sometimes I am able to do well and do just about as much as other people, but other times I can barely manage to get through the day. Immune deficiency, depression, severe anxiety. IBS as well, though that is more managed lately. I've kind of learned finding a balance is very important for me in my life, and that I need much more down time than most people in order to function at a "normal" level. At the same time once I've come out of being sick for awhile I often feel a renewed sense of life, which is not so bad I suppose.

2. NatWheeled

My girlfriend has bipolar, and ocd, and an anxiety disorder. In a way I think it'll strengthen our relationship. I like to think I can help her with her mental/emotional disabilities just as she can help me with my physical disabilities. I've always feared that if I found love with somebody without a disability, it'd become onesided, with me being able to offer little to the relationship compared to what they'd offer. Yet I didn't really want to date somebody physically disabled like me because I wanted, and needed the security that comes with dating a "normal" person. I didn't purposefully seek out somebody with mental disorders, but knowing my girlfriend needs support in a way I can offer makes the relationship feel more balanced, at least to me...not sure if that makes sense

3. Lawrence

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone