1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My child has told me he is gay- but he is so young!

Discussion in 'For Parents and Family Members of LGBT People' started by Curiousmum, Jun 16, 2014.

1. ginger cthulhu

It sounds like you're doing a wonderful job.
    It also sounds like your son is very sure of what he wants.
    Both things are awesome.
    :slight_smile:

2. Red Turtle

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    It sounds like he has thought alot about this and seems fairly sure of himself. I think it is possible for kids to know their sexual orientation or their gender at a young age. I knew that I liked girls when I was 7 and I knew I was a boy at 9. You sound like an awesome mom, by the way.

3. Colorful13

Believe me when I say that I am no expert when it comes to knowing when you yourself are gay or not, but when I was questioning my own sexuality I read SO many responses that said that they don't know when or if homosexuality is set in someones dna at birth but in most recorded (If im remembering correctly, forgive my bad memory) cases sexual orientation is set as early as the age of five. Perhaps this may be a phase and if so let it run it's course, your son knows his emotions better than anyone. but this is also very possible, if not more likely that he is truly gay. he seems to have come to terms with it and you should be proud that he was brave enough to come out to both you and his father (you seem like an amazing enough parent that you are proud :slight_smile: ). I apologize if this didnt help. :-/ keep being amazing :slight_smile:

4. FireSmoke

FireSmoke Guest

Even if he's very young, it's normal. I realised I'm a guy when I was 2 years old! :lol:

5. kezza

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight