So, about my summer job.

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Toast, May 23, 2014.

1. Toast

Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I just need to vent. I'm so frustrated.

I'm about to be a senior in highschool. I was offered a summer job last fall by a guy who knows my family, and also is a researcher at a local infectious disease research center. So, I've gone in for a tour, and interview, and a final meeting to go over what I'll be doing. I'm scheduled to begin next tTuesday.

So today, I was trying to complete the last of the online training exercises I need to complete, covering chemical safety and such, and the last one asks for my university I'd number, since the center is part of the university. I'm a high schooler. I don'thave an ID number. So I asked what I was supposed to do. Turns out, the people I've been dealing with didn't know I'm a highschool student. They didn't realize I wasn't a university student. So yeah, I can't go to work yet. I don't know if I'll be able to work there at all. Which really sucks. I've been getting so hyped up and excited. It's the opportunity of a lifetime in a field I love.

So yeah. I'm incredibly disappointed right now, but I guess there's nothing to be done. It was a miscommunication.

2. CharlsOn

CharlsOn Guest

Sorry for that!! You'll find another good job!!:slight_smile:
    Yea, sad but true. Communication is one of the most imortant things in life and world.

3. Gen

Gen

It sounds as though it would have been a research assistant job, which are always reserved for college students. Actually, they are often reserved for students with specific academic backgrounds or majors as well. I wonder why he would have offered you a job and not know this as a researcher.

Though don't worry, if you are really interested in the sciences, you will have plenty of time for research. Sometimes even a bit too much. When you start dreaming about burning down a lab or shredding the data.....

4. Toast

Out Status: