1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

All you lurkers out there....

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Choirboy, May 2, 2014.

1. Choirboy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I just got back from singing with my church choir for the funeral of a man in his late 30's who killed himself. He had a wife and several kids, and had fought a long battle with M.S.

I didn't know him personally, but several comments in the eulogy made me take note and made my mind question things just a little bit. He was a quirky guy who had fought depression since high school. Great flair for the dramatic, and he had quite a lot of self-taught musical skill, and had been a major theater geek in high school (and was a pretty dramatic sort from childhood on). No interest in sports, although he managed to catch the ball I think once and only once in an entire season of little league--fortunately to win the game! And very close to his mother, who died a few years ago, and his emotions went downhill rather quickly after that; and I believe he and his wife were close to splitting.

I'm not going to jump to the conclusion that he was gay and in the closet, and his suicide was connected to that, just because he was dramatic and musical and not into sports. It would be something of a stretch, knowing really nothing else about him. But those snippets of information sounded very similar to the personalities of so many of us here, me included, who struggled with our sexuality, got married, tried to make things work and ultimately realized we needed to make some changes in order to keep our happiness and self-worth and sanity.