1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Programming n00b

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by An Gentleman, Sep 23, 2013.

1. An Gentleman

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I have basic knowledge of Python 2.6, but that's it.
    Any advice on what language I should start programming with, and where I can get some tutorials?

2. toushirojaylee

w3schools is a good source of online tutorials. I'm a freshmen taking up BS Information Technology, dont know how to program yet, still on the basics :grin:

3. Randy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    c++, BASIC, Perl, SQL, Java, C

4. SilverGirl

java is pretty fun, there are good tutorials here:

The Java™ Tutorials

as you learn, there are great tutorials for java swing (java graphical interface) in the link above, the rest is only limited by your imagination :grin:

5. toushirojaylee

I love sql!but not the flowcharts and algorithms on cprog :eusa_doh:

6. Pret Allez

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    No, I don't recommend starting on C or C++. Python is a great starting language--so good in fact, that our CS department at UVic, after a year of piloting CSC 105 with it, decided that Python, not Java, would be the starting language.

After that, Java is good.

Pointers and references are really hard concepts for beginning programmers, and I recommend starting with languages where understanding that particular concept is not a central part of doing things in the language (unlike, say, C, where you basically can't do much of anything at all without pointers.)

Syster Adrian

7. aznboy

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    @An Gentleman: What are you trying to accomplish?