What do you think of my coming out letter?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Stridenttube, Sep 8, 2013.

1. Stridenttube

Stridenttube Guest

So Im telling my dad tuesday. I had a couple of my friends online look at it. Now its time for you guys to tell me what you think.

Dad,
    As you have likely noticed, over the course of the last year, I have become noticeably more depressed. I feel very anxious and pessimistic all of the time. These feelings have caused me to act out in less than ideal ways. I feel awful about the yelling matches that me and you have gotten into recently. The last thing I want to do is fight with you or mom, I love both of you so much and I want you to know that without a doubt!

Now to get to the point of this letter. There is something that I have been battling with for many years, about 8 years to be exact. I know you might be wondering when I plan on getting a girlfriend and starting my life. The reason I don’t have a girlfriend is because I’m gay. Before you throw this letter in the trash and go lock yourself in your room, I want you to realize that I'm the same son you've always had. The only difference now is that you know something about me that you didn’t know before. I'm not going to suddenly change, except that I'll be much happier now that you and mom now know this secret that I've been keeping locked away. This isn't anybody’s fault, its not caused by an absent father figure or an overbearing mother. All we have to blame for this is genetics. I couldn’t have asked for better parents, I love you both so much!