1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Homophobic Friend

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Pilgrim is hot, Jul 14, 2013.

1. Pilgrim is hot

Hello All

Haven't posted on this site for ages but wondered if I could get some advice on a difficult situation I've got:

I have a friend who I used to see pretty regularly we got on pretty well, now this friend has no idea that I'm gay but around 6-7 months ago he said the following "I really hate homosexuality, homosexuals and everything to do what that stuff, I think it's disgusting" as you can imagine I felt absolutely terrible after he said it.

I tried hanging out with him a few times after that but just didn't feel comfortable. I have been avoiding him for the last 6-7 months now and I feel bad as I liked him as a friend but I now feel uncomfortable around him and any time I think about talking to him about it I get severely anxious and feel terrible.

Does anyone have any advice on how to handle this situation?

2. A lot of people will probably disagree but I think it's good to stay away and avoid him like you've been doing. He's not going to accept to you if you came out to him and if you were to ever become good friends with him you'd have to hide a very important portion of your life from him.

If he won't be friends with you if you're gay, he's not a real friend.

3. addie88

I think you could either continue to be distant, or try to talk to him about it. Because you're this uncomfortable (and rightfully so) there's no reason to try and hang out with him anyway just because you used to be friends. Friendships are meant to grow and change and even fade, and sometimes in cases like this they can end more or less abruptly. If someone is unwilling to accept you for who you are then truth is they are not your friend.