1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do you do well in school?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by vhrebels, Jun 27, 2013.

1. BMC77

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    It's been so long I've forgotten many details...

My best recollection of high school was that I got started with OK grades. By 10th grade, I got obsessed with grades. For a while, I was so obsessed I even kept my own grade records so I could track how I was doing. By the time I graduated, I was mostly a straight A student. I think I graduated in the top 10%...although that was not much of an accomplishment given the student body. One teacher even told me bluntly there were basically 2 groups: the good students, and the bad students. There was very little in between.

2. Tightrope

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I like to read articles about psychological and sociological studies, though I am not schooled in this stuff. One article mentioned that a possible reason is that gay men are more likely to excel at activities which can be carried out individually, whereas straight men are more apt to pursue activities which involve teamwork. The article mentioned that the difference wasn't as noticeable among the women they studies. A link is not at my fingertips.

3. TheTrueInferno

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people