1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feeling guilt

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Bowie, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Bowie

Hello,

I came out to my parents a few weeks ago. My dad took it pretty well, my mum didn't. It's a long story and I don't want to make this post long. What they both agreed on, however, is that I shouldn't tell more people from my hometown (I live and study elsewhere) to give them some time to come around. I agreed to do that for a while.

This New Year's Eve, while my parents were out of town, some girl from the school I studied at invited me to a party, so I went. While I was there, I drank a little more than I should have and ended up coming out to everyone there. The crowd was mostly younger than me (around 17 or 18) and came from relatively conservative backgrounds. I also hit on my friend's (male) cousin. It didn't cross my mind that he could not be gay, but it appears he isn't (or says so, at least). Apparently, he was a offended. The rest of the people there seem to have taken it pretty well, and I actually made friends. I also did a lot of other imprudent things, but they weren't related to being gay and won't have consequences. All they did was make me look a bit silly.