1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gay Science 101

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Bowie, Jul 28, 2011.

1. Bowie

Fist of all, I realise that this thread might be more thematically fitting to the Chit Chat section. I have posted it here because I think that the people who might be interested in it are more likely to be in this section than in that one. If the moderators feel differently, however, please feel free to move it (not that I'd have to give permission, I'm just justifying myself :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:).

Secondly, as cool as this is, that's not what I'm talking about.

I would like to ask a few question regarding what is scientifically know about human homosexual, bisexual and transgender behaviour. I am not a doctor or a biologist, but I am very curious about it. This topic is intended for general discussion, but I suggest orienting it around a few questions:

• Is there scientific evidence that non-heterosexual behaviour is "normal" in the human species? I have seen homophobic people arguing that they believed homosexuals to be just trying to attract attention, and that they didn't actually feel attracted physically and romantically to the same sex. What about bisexuality?
    • Are the Kinsey Reports still the main references about this subject or are they considered outdated? How well-accepted are they in the scientific community?
    • What is known about the origin of non-heterosexual behaviour in humans? KaraBulut posted a link to a study in this thread that seemed to suggest that there is a heavy genetic influence on the odds that a person might be homosexual. What is, in fact, known about it?

Thank you for reading this far and for any possible replies.

2. Kidd

Kidd Guest