1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't believe what just happened - I don't do surprises!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by kayar, Mar 2, 2009.

1. kayar

:smilewave Hi guys, Oh what a night!

First, I need to tell you that I am the type of person who does his best to plan and prepare for just about everything in advance. I DON'T DO SURPRISES!

Soooo, Monday night (it's now 11.10pm here in the UK) is my regular weekly club night at a photographic society that I joined last year (not because I'm a great photographer, but because I wanna get better). We stop about half way through the evening for a coffee and a chat. Well, I started talking to a girl member I'd known briefly before tonight over our coffee. I began telling her of some of the fun non 'coming out' threads (in Chit-Chat and Fun & Games) that we have all been enjoying lately, but without giving any clue as to what the core theme is at EC (I didn't name it either).

Then out of the blue she said, "What's this web-site called?"

Ahhhh! Do you know what, all I could do was panic! I said something like, "Oh it's a themed site and I don't really want to go any further than that!" Which she politely if a little awkwardly accepted.

Yeah, go on then - all together "COWARD!"

Sooooo, it was now time to return to our seats and resume the night's competition. I sat there feeling really stupid - I mean it! I've posted a lot on EC about how I want to 'come out' and advised many of you guys how you should do it; and then when I'm given a perfect opportunity - I back down. Drrhhh! :eusa_doh:

Ahhhhh, but all was not lost. I very quickly regained my composure, and to my surprise decided that I was going to go back to her as soon as the competition was over to put things right.

Thennnnn, the competition ended and I went straight over to her and said; "Nicky, I'm sorry I behaved really stupidly back there about that web-site."