1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My PhD induced Depression

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by SuperNovaRoamer, Feb 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SuperNovaRoamer

Hi ECers,

I just wanted to write because I felt the need to express myself and what I am going through at the moment with other people. I was hoping for some support or advice or whatever help people might want to give me.

I am a PhD student and I am in the process of writing up my thesis. I have been doing this project for 4 years. I have done all of the experimental work that I need to do and 'only' have to write up my results in a thesis to finish and get my higher degree. Before this I completed my undergraduate degree with Honours which took another 4 years. As you can imagine, after 8 years of university study I am rather tired of it.

Basically, I have not been able to will myself to complete the writing stage of my PhD and finish and get on with my life. I have locked myself away in my bedroom for about 6 months unable to face the world or my project. I have lost a lot of weight (about 7kgs), I am not eating well and I rarely exercise any more.

My flatmates obviously recognised that something was very wrong with me and have been very supportive. They took me to the doctor and he diagnosed me with depression. Since then I have started the long process of trying to get myself better. I am taking Zoloft, have seen two counsellors (one much better than the other), have initiated a dialogue with my supervisor and mentors, and started going back to work. I started swimming, playing my violin again, doing muscle exercises, going for walks, eating better foods etc.