1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Summer is a rough time for my body-image

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by lottaotter, Jun 15, 2021.

1. lottaotter

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Early this year I had got to a place where I was feeling better about my body than ever before, but as soon as summer started so much of that has eroded, almost overnight.

I love summer because of the hot weather and having more opportunities to go outside, but for the last year I have been living in an area with a lot of students (I'm a student too, but started age 25 so I'm around 7 years older than most) and it's so difficult not to be disheartened seeing everyone.

Whenever I go out lately I just see heterosexual couples and their PDA and I'm starting to get really annoyed by it. I feel very jeaous and bitter. I've stopped running since I moved here since it seems everyone else who is jogging around here is not just doing it to keep fit (unlike in my hometown, where you see all 'types' of people exercising). Instead, they're wearing high-end kit and and are so much fitter than I am. It's so depressing. I should not that I'm not overweight- I'm actually struggling to gain weight (not underweight either, actually I'm perfectly healthy but hey society doesn't care about health, it cares about looks).

Everyone here is tall, muscular, tanned, dark-haired and has nice, expensive clothes. I look like a disgusting mess in comparison. I don't feel comfy going out to a pub wth my housemates much here anymore since I feel so self-conscious. 'Lad culture' is soooo strong here at university and I don't fit into that at all. Actually it brings back a lot of memories of being bullied at school by those kinds of people. I've always felt like I'm not enough of a man and those feelings are multiplied by a thousand here.