1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I came out months ago and little has changed

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Zulfikar, Oct 19, 2020.

1. Zulfikar

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hello all, I’m new to ec and would really appreciate some constructive advice. I come from a Caribbean/West Indian Muslim household. Where everyone is very anti-gay, and very religious. A few months ago my parents started questioning a friend that I had, not knowing I was dating him. After a while things got heated over the phone between my mother and I and she asked me if I was gay, I didn’t hold back and I said yes. I felt like I could hear her heart break on the other end of the line. I would out of state at the time and couldn’t make it hone fast enough to give my mom a hug. I came out to my mom and sister at the same time over the phone. Once I got back home, I met my mom and she begged me to tell her I was joking, with tears down her face. She described it as me using a metaphorical knife to stab her. We’ve had a few talks from that point and she had came a long way, she accepted the fact that I’m gay but doesn’t support it. As for my dad, he pretends that nothing ever happened and that Im not gay. It’s been like this for a few months. My parents made me promise to break up with this guy for them and I did. But now I’ve met someone amazing who treats me really well, and I want to be with him but I don’t know how to go about it with my parents. I’ve come out to my parents, second eldest brother and little sister. My oldest brother doesn’t know because he doesn’t live at home anymore. I feel so lost, like I don’t know how to approach anything like this when it comes to my parents. I love them both very much and I hate having them look at me like a disappointment because I’m gay. Any advice and where to go from here would be really helpf