1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello community

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by MantisRay, Sep 15, 2020.

1. MantisRay

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hello,

I'm a 28 year old gay male. I've been in denial for most of my teenage years and then convinced myself that I didn't need sexuality in my life somehow. I finally came out to my sister when I graduated college at age 22, who I knew would be supportive and she was. I still haven't come out to my parents because my mom is very homophobic and still cannot imagine coming out to them.

In my early 20s, I convinced myself that I just needed friends, I didn't need sex and I didn't need relationships, but over the years, friends drift away, they move on with their lives, move away, some have gotten married and moved on to new stages of their life, and I'm left mostly alone. I've never dated anyone. I couldn't date any girls because I couldn't stand hurting someone that way, knowing that it would be a lie, and I couldn't date men because I couldn't fully accept my sexuality.

Once I hit 27, I started having fears about how the rest of my life will turn out and I started seriously contemplating embracing my sexuality. However this is difficult because I am an introvert and generally don't like going out to social events unless it is with people I knew. And because I avoided dating and relationships my whole life, I feel like I've missed a lot of opportunities to learn how to navigate that part of life, and missed the time to do so (when I was still in school and had more opportunities to meet people).