1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Limited but intense attraction for a “type”

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Nickw, Jan 1, 2020.

1. Nickw

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Not really looking for advice here. Just really wondering if what I feel is common for other gay or bisexual men.

I can look at a hundred men and feel no sort of desire at all. Some pretty famous guys that everyone talks about and I can tell they are good looking but I feel nothing.

Ive been camping in a surf camp for a couple months. There are all sorts of good looking guys around. But, there is one guy that I am almost ridiculously attracted to. So much so that i almost hurt with longing.

The thing is. He looks like I did when I was thirty. Similar build and features. He could also pass for my boyfriends brother.

I was never that way with women. I find a wide range of women attractive. But, I can go a year without feeling this about a guy. This made it really easy for me to fool myself about my sexuality.

It’s age related too. If a guy looks younger than 25 or so or older than 35 I just cannot summon this sort of desire. I’m assuming this is some sort of learned behavior. But, it’s also convenient that my attractions are so limited. I can be “part time gay”.

Anyone else feel this way?

Poofter and Tightrope like this.
  2. SiennaFire

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey @Nickw

How are things with you?

It seems that you are attracted to guys who are half your age?

When I was in that phase, I was still accepting my sexual orientation.

HTH,
    SF

3. Nickw

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people