1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Romantic vs platonic love

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by BookDragon, Feb 5, 2019.

1. BookDragon

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Can anyone advise me on how to differentiate between romantic and platonic love? I'm not good with understanding emotional stuff, and I need to know how to make a distinction between wanting to be great friends and wanting more. Any thoughts?

2. Lgbtqpride

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    A few people
    The feelings is different.

3. SomecallhimTim

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Personally I don't differentiate. I'm somewhere on the aromantic spectrum and I also had a really hard time telling the difference between romantic and platonic feelings for years. I eventually realized that I couldn't tell the difference because for me there isn't one. I don't know if that's the kind of answer you're looking for but I hope it helps. Generally what people tell me is that romantic feelings are more intense and involve the desire to do romantic things (whatever than means for you) with the person and platonic feelings don't have that.

4. Lgbtqpride

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    A few people
    There can also be intense bromance like Sherlock and John.

5. BookDragon

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm autistic - I can't tell the difference, which is why I'm asking.

6. Devil Dave

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    If you think of the friend as being like a brother or sister, then it's platonic.

Dionysios and Lgbtqpride like this.
  7. grayman