1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone able to give advice about coming out?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by DevPerson, Jan 29, 2019.

1. DevPerson

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hello,

This is my first time on this forum and I was hoping to try and find some advice about coming out. So I am currently 15 and have believed that I might have been gay since June 2018. I have now finished questioning my sexuality a few weeks ago and believe that I am what I think I am.

For a few days now I have been wondering if I should come out or not, I feel ready however when I finally get ready to tell someone, I just feel really nervous and decide to try and do it again tomorrow. Which then goes on a loop.

I have a friend who is bisexual who I feel like I should maybe tell them first, as I believe that they would have an easier time understanding this. I also come from a family who I believe wouldn't mind if I was gay. Has anyone got any ideas on what I should do to overcome my nerves, and if it would be good for me to come out to my friend before my family?

Thank you, any advice is highly appreciated.

2. dano218

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I think coming out to this friend at first might be a great idea as long you feel you can trust them and perhaps start coming out to more people after that. Even telling that one person can be a relief to get it off your shoulders as it was for me.

DevPerson likes this.
  3. DevPerson

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Thank you, I appreciate the advice.

4. silverhalo

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone